UAB Track and Field Ranked No. 25 Nationally

UABSPORTS.COM UAB graduate students Eli Kirk and Neal Tisher qualified for the NCAA Finals in Eugene, Ore. and will compete in the pole vault, 5K and 10K June 11-14 at the national meet.
UABSPORTS.COM
UAB graduate students Eli Kirk and Neal Tisher qualified for the NCAA Finals in Eugene, Ore. and will compete in the pole vault, 5K and 10K June 11-14 at the national meet.
UABSPORTS.COM

June 3, 2014

USTFCCCA Rankings

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - UAB's track and field team moved into the top-25 polls nationally at No. 25 in the USTFCCCA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Poll for the first time in school history, the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association released on Tuesday.

UAB is the highest-ranked Conference USA school in the poll, topping East Carolina who sits at No. 42. Graduate students Elinor Kirk and Neal Tisher qualified for the upcoming NCAA Finals at this past weekend's NCAA East Preliminary meet, and will cap their UAB careers at the national meet June 11-14.

Kirk won the 5,000-meter run on Saturday in Jacksonville, Fla. and will make her second-straight appearance in the 5K championship. She ran a 33:55.60 in Thursday's 10,000-meter run to also qualify for the 10K finals.

Tisher, the Mobile, Ala. native in medical school, topped out at a 4.20m (13-9 ¼) in pole vault on Friday to qualify for the NCAA Finals.

Kirk will open competition in Eugene, Ore. on Thursday, June 12, at 7:15 p.m. PT/9:15 p.m. CT in the 10K and will run in the 5K at 3:24 p.m. PT/5:24 p.m. CT on Saturday, June 14. Tisher is scheduled to vault at 3:15 p.m. PT/5:15 p.m. CT on Friday, June 13. 

For the latest news on Blazer sports, follow the UAB Athletics Twitter account, @UABathletics. For an in-depth look into the UAB Track & Field program, follow @UAB_Track on Twitter.