Kirk, Brown, Tisher Head To NCAA Prelims

UABSPORTS.COM Thomas leads the Blazer trio of Eli Kirk, Kate Brown and Neal Tisher to this weekend's NCAA East Preliminary Meet in Jacksonville, Fla.
UABSPORTS.COM
Thomas leads the Blazer trio of Eli Kirk, Kate Brown and Neal Tisher to this weekend's NCAA East Preliminary Meet in Jacksonville, Fla.
UABSPORTS.COM

May 28, 2014

Meet Info | Schedule | Live Results | Heat Sheets

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – UAB track and field athletes Elinor Kirk, Neal Tisher and Kate Brown will compete for a chance at the NCAA Finals at this weekend’s NCAA East Preliminary in Jacksonville, Fla. hosted by the University of North Florida.

Both Kirk and Brown will run the 5,000-meter and 10,000-meter runs, while Tisher will compete in the pole vault competition.

The Blazer trio are vying for berths in the upcoming NCAA Championships, coming up June 11-14 in Eugene, Ore.

The 10K is set for 9:40 p.m. ET/8:40 p.m. CT on Thursday night at Hodges Stadium in Jacksonville. Tisher will compete for her spot in the finals at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT on Friday. Both Kirk and Brown will hit the track again on Saturday at 8:45 p.m. ET/7:45 p.m. CT for competition in the 5K.

Kirk, the native of Swansea, Wales, holds the No. 1 time in the NCAA in the 10K, a 32:17.05, which she ran at the Stanford Invite on April 4. She also ranks ninth in the NCAA in the 5K, a 15:42.13, which she ran at the Mt. SAC Relays on April 17.

Brown ran a 34:14.31 in the 10K at the Stanford Invite to qualify for the NCAA Preliminary and won the 5K at the Alabama Relays back in March with a run of 16:43.12.

Tisher’s first-year success at UAB in pole vault has continuously set new UAB records, as her most recent performance at the Conference USA Championship ranks 11th in the NCAA. She joined the 14-foot club and vaulted to a 4.28m (14-0 1/2), which broke the six-year old C-USA record.


 

 

All information regarding the NCAA East Preliminary Meet can be found by clicking the links above, or by visiting www.UNFOspreys.com or www.NCAA.com.

For the latest news on Blazer sports, follow the UAB Athletics Twitter account, @UABathletics. For an in-depth look into the UAB Track & Field program, follow @UAB_Track on Twitter.