Kirk Qualifies For NCAA Finals In 10K

UABSPORTS.COM UAB's Elinor Kirk qualified for the NCAA Finals in the 10K on Thursday night in Jacksonville, Fla. at the NCAA East Prelims.
UABSPORTS.COM
UAB's Elinor Kirk qualified for the NCAA Finals in the 10K on Thursday night in Jacksonville, Fla. at the NCAA East Prelims.
UABSPORTS.COM

May 29, 2014

Meet Info | Schedule | Live Results | Heat Sheets

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - UAB's Elinor Kirk is headed to the NCAA Finals for the second year in a row after qualifying Thursday night in the 10,000-meter run at the NCAA East Preliminary meet.

Kirk, who qualified for nationals last year in the 5,000, ran a time of 33:55.60 in the 10K to qualify for a return trip to Eugene, Ore. The NCAA Championships will be held June 11-14 in Eugene.

The graduate student from Swansea, Wales entered the event with the nation's top time in the 10K and finished ninth. The top-12 runners from the event advance to the national meet.

"Today was about qualifying for the NCAA Final in Eugene and we did just that," assistant track coach Tony Houchin said. "Now we have two days until the next one."

Erin Finn of Michigan won the race with a 33:13.46. UAB's Kate Brown also took part in the race, but did not finish.

Kirk and Brown will now turn their attention to Saturday's 5,000-meter run, which is slated for an 8:45 p.m. ET/7:45 p.m. CT start from Jacksonville.

Neal Tisher will be the lone UAB competitor in Friday's action at the prelims, as she's scheduled to compete in pole vault at 12 p.m. ET/11 a.m. CT.

All information regarding the NCAA East Preliminary Meet can be found by clicking the links above, or by visiting www.UNFOspreys.com or www.NCAA.com.

For the latest news on Blazer sports, follow the UAB Athletics Twitter account, @UABathletics. For an in-depth look into the UAB Track & Field program, follow @UAB_Track on Twitter.