UAB Beach Volleyball Set for CCSA Tournament

April 20, 2017


MATCH NOTES

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Participating in the second annual CCSA Conference Tournament, the UAB beach volleyball team heads to Emerson, Ga., with an NCAA bid on the line this weekend, April 21-23 at the Rally Volleyball Complex.

The Blazers (11-16) were selected for Pool B and will face No. 7 LSU, College of Charleston, No. 15 FAU and No. 9 Georgia State. The top two teams in the round-robin of the Pool B will advance to the semifinals. Pool A consists of No. 4 Florida State, No. 10 FIU, No. 12 South Carolina, Tulane and UNC Wilmington. 

UAB Tournament Schedule (Tournament played in EST)

Friday, April 21
UAB vs. No. 7 LSU - 9 a.m. EST /8 a.m. CST
UAB vs. College of Charleston - 1:30 p.m. EST /12:30 p.m. CST 

Saturday, April 22
UAB vs. No. 15 FAU - 10:30 a.m. EST /9:30 a.m. CST
UAB vs. No. 9 Georgia State - 3 p.m. EST /2 p.m. CST 

Sunday, April 23
Semifinal 1 - Pool A #1 vs. Pool B #2 - 8 a.m. CST/9 a.m. EST
Semifinal 2 - Pool B #1 vs. Pool A #2 - 8 a.m. CST/9 a.m. EST
Championship - Winner Semifinal #1 vs. Winner Semifinal # 2 - 12 p.m. CST/1 p.m. EST

The CCSA is in its second year as a beach volleyball conference and added two new teams this year (UNCW and CofC), which brings the number of institutions to 10. The Blazers look for their first tournament win after falling to Florida State, LSU and South Carolina in last year’s tournament.

MARTINEZ AND ADAMS LEAD THE WAY:

Emily Martinez finished the regular season with a team-best 16-10 record, while her partner Kenley Adams was one win behind her with a mark of 15-10.

This duo was extremely hot down the stretch and won 11 of their final 13 matches together with the majority of those coming on court three. Their signature win came against No. 9 Georgia State, who they will see again this weekend.

JONES HEATS UP:

Graduate transfer Kalah Jones has added a nice boost to the back of the UAB lineup. After recently being inserted into the lineup, Jones has won five of her last six matches and is 6-3 on the year overall. Last weekend Jones paired with Tressa Buckland who has been in and out of the lineup due to injury and the pair looked dominant in two victories. Buckland is also 6-3 this season.

SCOUTING THE COMPETITON:

LSU (22-5) is on 20-match win streak and earned the top seed in Pool B. The Tigers defeated UAB 5-0 earlier this season. Georgia State (19-12) is the two-seed in Pool B. GSU defeated UAB 4-1 a month ago in Atlanta, but four of the five matches went to three sets. UAB has not played FAU or College of Charleston this season.

The championship match of the tournament will stream on ESPN3 on Sunday at 12 p.m. CST/1 p.m. EST. Follow @UAB_BVB on Twitter and Instagram throughout the weekend for updates.