Townsend, Attfield Headline UAB's C-USA Honors

Head coach Marla Townsend was named C-USA Coach of the Year for the third time in her career.

May 8, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- UAB head coach Marla Townsend was named the Conference USA Coach of the Year and freshman Caitlin Attfield picked up the league's Freshman of the Year honor as the conference office announced its 2013 softball awards Wednesday.

Along with Freshman of the Year accolades, Attfield was also named to the C-USA All-Freshman Team and was one of three Blazers named first team All-C-USA.

Townsend, who led the Blazers to its first regular-season title in program history, was voted Coach of the Year for the third time in her career. Townsend also picked up the honors in 2002 and 2006.

Attfield, a native of Niagara Falls, N.Y., is the second UAB player to earn C-USA's Freshman of the Year award, joining Lauren Webster, who picked up the honor in 2010. She hit .363 during her first season, the fourth-best average in the league, and scored a team-leading 32 runs while recording a 57 hits, also a team best. Attfield also stole 22 bases and laid down nine sacrifice bunts.

Joining Attfield on the All-C-USA First Team are junior pitcher Lannah Campbell and senior outfielder Whitney Fletcher. Campbell, who was named to the second team a season ago, posted a 7-1 record in conference play, and picked up a team-high six saves on the year. Fletcher, who was the 2012 Co-Newcomer of the Year, has posted one of the team's top batting averages at .355 and has tied the single-season record for triples with five on the year.

Seniors Anna Kimbrell and Kate Armstrong and junior Kristen McGrath each garnered Second Team All-C-USA accolades. Kimbrell and McGrath lead the Blazers on the season in home runs with a combined total of 22, while Armstrong was nearly perfect from the field during the league schedule.

This marks the second time in McGrath's career that she has been voted to the league's second team, while Armstrong was named to the All-Freshman team in 2010.

UAB takes the field at the No. 1 seed in the Conference USA Softball Championship, hosted by Tulsa at the Collins Family Softball Complex, and will face No. 8 Southern Miss on Thursday at 4:30 p.m. CT.

2013 Conference USA All-Conference Teams:
Player of the Year: Haley Outon, Houston
Pitcher of the Year: Aimee Creger, Tulsa
Freshman of the Year: Caitlin Attfield, UAB
Newcomer of the Year: Erika Arcuri, UTEP
Coach of the Year: Marla Townsend, UAB

First Team All-Conference
C Haley Outon, Houston
IF Holly Anderson, Houston
IF Jill Barrett, Tulsa
IF Samantha Cobb, Tulsa
IF Caitlin Attfield, UAB
OF Katie St. Pierre, Houston
OF Kaelynn Greene, Marshall
OF Whitney Fletcher, UAB
P Aimee Creger, Tulsa
P Lannah Campbell, UAB
UT Lacey Middlebrooks, Tulsa

Second Team All-Conference
C Anna Kimbrell, UAB
IF Jordan Lewis, East Carolina
IF Kristi Oshio, East Carolina
IF Jazmine Valle, Marshall
IF Kate Armstrong, UAB
OF Ashley Gue, Marshall
OF Lelani Bernardino, Memphis
OF Haley Henshaw, Tulsa
P Bailey Watts, Houston
P Andi Williamson, Marshall
UT Kristen McGrath, UAB

All-Freshman Team
Meredith Mitchell, East Carolina
Katie St. Pierre, Houston
Shaelynn Braxton, Marshall
Raquel Escareno, Marshall
Kaelynn Greene, Marshall
Hannah Harrell, Memphis
Morgan McKeever, Southern Miss
Catherine Horner, Tulsa
Caitlin Attfield, UAB
Shelby Turnier, UCF
Taylor Wagner, UCF