Webster Named UAB Student-Athlete Of The Week

UABSPORTS.COM Webster boasts a 3.16 GPA.
UABSPORTS.COM
Webster boasts a 3.16 GPA.
UABSPORTS.COM

March 5, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—UAB softball pitcher Lauren Webster has been named the student athlete of the week for her outstanding accomplishments both on the field and in the classroom.

The sports and health in society major maintains a 3.16 GPA and owns a Conference-USA best ERA of 0.83.

At the Magic City Classic, co-hosted by UAB and Samford, Webster threw a pair of complete games in the 4-1 win over Nicholls State and the 2-0 victory over Murray State. She was also named Co-Most Valuable Pitcher of the tournament for her efforts.

In 14 innings, the Mathews, Ala., native retired 26 batters, including 14 in the win over Murray State to match her career high for the second time this season. The win was also her third shutout of the year.

Webster was also named Conference USA Pitcher of the Week for her performance.

UAB softball is back in action this weekend as it travels to Orlando, Fla., to kick off the Conference USA slate at UCF. Saturday’s doubleheader is set to start at Noon CT/1 p.m. ET, while Sunday’s game is set for 10:30 a.m. CT/11:30 a.m. ET. The final game of the series will be televised on Fox Sports Net.


 

 

 
Renewal Season Ticket
Message From the AD