Pair Of Blazers Earn All-Conference Honors

Senior Tiffini Turpin earned her third career all-league honor on Tuesday.

Nov. 1, 2011

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Seniors Tiffini Turpin and Carolyn Polcari earned All-Conference USA First Team and Third Team honors, respectively, as announced by the league office Tuesday. It marks the third all-league honor for Turpin and second-consecutive honor for Polcari.

“I’m very proud of Carolyn and Tiffini for receiving all-conference honors,” UAB head coach Harold Warren said. “They worked extremely hard, played well and deserve the honor of being all-conference.”

Turpin, who was also named to the C-USA First Team (2008) and Second Team (2009), led the Blazers  (6-12-1, 3-7-1 C-USA) with six goals and one assist for 13 points. The forward’s three game-winning goals this season upped her career total to 11, placing her in a three-way tie for first in UAB’s all-time career list.  

Turpin started in all 79 games of her career and will be etched in UAB’s record books in various categories, including shots (150) and goals (21). Furthermore, she closed the season with 11 points in her last seven games (5g, 1a).

The Birmingham, Ala. native, ended the year on a high note netting her first career hat trick in the 3-2 double overtime victory in UAB’s season finale at East Carolina (10/30). Because of her efforts she was named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week for the third time in her four years as a Blazer.

Polcari, who earned second-team all-conference honors in 2010, ranked first on the team in assists (4), second in points (10) and tied for second in goals (3). The Richardson, Texas, native fired 28 shots in C-USA action, ranking her in the top 10 in the league. She finished her career with 185 shots, placing her fourth in UAB all-time lore.

Memphis’ Christa Oduro took home the 2011 C-USA Offensive Player of the Year award and the Tigers’ Lizzy Simonin was named the 2011 C-USA Defensive Player of the Year for the second-straight year. Jessie Ayers of Colorado College was selected as the 2011 Midfielder of the Year and Freshman of the Year.