Blazer Tennis Team Falls In Boise State Final

Tom Puetz lost a three-setter in singles Saturday to Boise State.

March 24, 2012

Complete Results

BOISE, Idaho ----- The UAB men's tennis team saw its five-match win streak come to an end Saturday as the Blazers lost to nationally-ranked Boise State, 6-1, in the championship match of the Boise State Spring Break Classic.

The Blazers (13-4), ranked No. 73 and coming off wins Friday against Utah and Nevada to reach the final, managed its only win against the Broncos at No. 4 singles as Daniel Moser defeated Nathan Sereke, 6-3, 4-6, 10-6.

Boise State (16-5), ranked all season long and currently listed at No. 42, improved to 13-0 at home this season and extended its home win streak overall to 19 consecutive matches at the Appleton Tennis Center, dating back to last year.

The Broncos took a 1-0 lead on the strength of a sweep in doubles. James Meredith and Sereke were 8-3 winners at the No. 1 position over UAB's team of Tom Puetz and David Zimmerman.

Andy Bettles and Filipp Pogostkin won by an 8-5 margin at No. 3 doubles over UAB's Lucas Dirube and Chris Helliar. Damian Hume and Scott Sears provided the sweep with an 8-6 win at the No. 2 spot over the Blazers' Danny Manlow and Moser.

Meredith, ranked No. 48 nationally in singles, gave the Broncos a 2-0 lead with a 6-3, 6-3 win at No. 1 singles over Manlow. Hume, also ranked at No. 55, took a 6-2, 6-2 victory at the No. 2 position over UAB's Zimmerman.

Pogostkin clinched the match for the Broncos with his 6-2, 6-2 win at No. 5 singles over Dirube. Sears outlasted Puetz at No. 6 singles, 6-1, 5-7, 10-4. Moser's win at No. 4 put UAB on the scoreboard before Bettles closed out the scoring with a 6-4, 6-3 win at No. 3 over Helliar.

Championship Match
No. 42 Boise State 6, No. 73 UAB 1



1. Meredith/Sereke (BSU) def. Puetz/Zimmerman (UAB), 8-3
2. Hume/Sears (BSU) def. Manlow/Mose (UAB), 8-6
3. Bettles/Pogostkin (BSU) def. Dirube/Helliar (UAB), 8-5
Order of Finish: 1, 3, 2

1. James Meredith (BSU) def. Danny Manlow (UAB), 6-3, 6-3
2. Damian Hume (BSU) def. David Zimmerman (UAB), 6-2, 6-2
3. Andy Bettles (BSU) def. Chris Helliar (UAB), 6-4, 6-3
4. Daniel Moser (UAB) def. Nathan Sereke (BSU), 6-3, 4-6, 10-6
5. Filipp Pogostkin (BSU) def. Lucas Dirube (UAB), 6-2, 6-2
6. Scott Sears (BSU) def. Tom Puetz (UAB), 6-1, 5-7, 10-4
Order of Finish: 1, 2, 5, 6, 4, 3