Men's Golf Paired With Wake Forest And SMU To Open NCAA Championship

May 23, 2001

The UAB men's golf team, ranked 27th in the nation, is seeded 26th in the 2001 NCAA Men's Golf Championships set for May 30-June 2 at the Duke University Golf Club in Durham, N.C. The Blazers will be paired with Wake Forest and SMU in the first two rounds of competition.

The appearance in this event is the first ever for the Blazers.

Thirty teams along with six individuals advanced to the championship from last week's regional play.

Top seeded East Tennessee State fired a team score of 36-under par 828 to win the East Regional in Williamsburg, Va. at the Golden Horseshoe Golf Club, by eight strokes over second place finisher N.C. State. At the Central Regional, played at the Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, Okla., Kent State, Oklahoma and Purdue tied for the top spot with totals of 883, good for 19-over par. Kent State was awarded the number two seed for the national tournament.

In the West, Arizona State won by 15 shots with a 12-under par total of 852 at the Trysting Tree Golf Club in Corvallis, Ore. The Sun Devils are the number three seeded team for the NCAA Championships, followed by Oklahoma, Arizona, N.C. State, UC Irvine, Florida, Purdue, Clemson, Minnesota, Pacific, College of Charleston, South Carolina, Georgia, Oregon State, Virginia Tech, Oklahoma State, Georgia Tech, Augusta State, Stanford, Toledo, UCLA, Georgia Southern, Wake Forest, UAB, SMU, Mississippi, Houston and Washington.

The six individuals who qualified for the competition are John Klauk (Texas), Nick Watney (Fresno State), Kirk Satterfield (Furman), Charleton Dechert (Oral Roberts), Leif Olson (Duke), and Andy Stewart (Kansas).

Oklahoma State is the defending team champion, having won in a playoff over Georgia Tech at the Grand National Lake Course in Opelika, Ala., last year.

The 2000 individual medalist was Oklahoma State's Charles Howell, who fired a four-round score of 67-66-63-69=265 to win by eight strokes.

Designed by Robert Trent Jones and re-designed by Rees Jones in 1993, the Duke University Golf Course opened in 1957 and will play at par 72 and 7,088 yards. The course also played host to the NCAA Men's Golf Championships in 1962.

Practice rounds are scheduled for Monday and Tuesday with competitive play beginning on Wednesday.


Monday, May 28: First practice round 12:50 p.m. (1st tee)

Tuesday, May 29: Second practice round 8:50 a.m. (10th tee)

Wednesday, May 30: First round of championship play 8:03 a.m. (10th tee)

Thursday, May 31: Second round of champinship play 1:03 p.m. (1st tee)

Note: There is cut after the first two rounds. Only the top 15 teams will advance to the final two rounds of play.

Friday, June 1: Third round-seeded by score

Saturday, June 2: Final round-Seeded by score