UAB's Nelson Named To 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Jamarcus Nelson joins a prestigious group of wide receivers on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

July 15, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ---- UAB senior Jamarcus Nelson has earned a spot on a prestigious preseason watch list for the second time in a week.

On Tuesday, the Blazer wide receiver was named to the 2014 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List, presented annually to the nation’s outstanding receiver, regardless of position.  The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, released its 2014 Biletnikoff Watch List.

The award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

Last week, Nelson was tabbed to the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award, given each year to the most versatile player in college football.

Nelson, from Midfield, Ala., will enter his senior season at UAB in 2014 with 81 career receptions for 1,618 yards and 16 receiving touchdowns.  He has a career yards per catch average of 20 yards. Nelson also has a kick return for a touchdown and a punt return for a score during his Blazer career.

Twelve of Nelson’s overall 19 touchdowns have covered distances of more than 40 yards.

As a junior last season, Nelson produced a career-best 42 receptions for 846 yards with eight receiving touchdowns as he was named second-team All-Conference USA.  He had four games last season with more than 100 yards receiving.

In the season opener last year at Troy, Nelson registered 367 all-purpose yards as he recorded 199 receiving yards and returned a kickoff return 97 yards for a touchdown.  Nelson averaged 22.7 yards on 27 kick returns in 2013.

For more information on the UAB football team, follow the Blazers on Twitter (@UAB_Football). For more on all Blazer athletic teams follow @UABAthletics.



The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 – 9:00pm on ESPN. College and Pro Football Hall of Famer Fred Biletnikoff will announce the 2014 winner on the show.

Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 17, 2014, following the vote by the 221 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 24, 2014. 

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation (TQC), Inc., created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994.