Ty Long Named To Groza Award Watch List

Ty Long is one of 30 kickers named to the 2012 Groza Award Watch List.

July 11, 2012

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ----- UAB sophomore kicker Ty Long has been named as one of 30 players nationally to the Watch List for the 2012 Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Long, from Roswell, Ga., had an outstanding season as a true freshman in 2011 as he connected on 16-of-19 field goals, including a pair of game-winning field goals (vs. UCF and Southern Miss). He was named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team and was also tabbed a third-team Freshman All-American by Phil Steele's College Football Preview.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2011 season and 2012 expectations.

Long ranked No. 2 last year among Conference USA kickers in field goal percentage at 84.2 and was third in field goals made per game (1.33). In addition, he ranked second nationally among freshman in field goals made per game and was third among NCAA freshmen in FG percentage.

His 72 points scored ranked third in the country among freshman kickers overall and was the second-highest mark among true freshmen. His 16 field goals were the most of any true freshman kicker in the country in 2011 and second-highest among all freshmen (Oklahoma redshirt frosh Mike Hunnicutt had 21 FGs last season).

Long, who did not miss any field goals last season inside 43 yards, kicked a season-long 49-yarder in the Blazers' contest at Tulsa and also had 46-yarder a week later in the UAB win over UCF.

Long was one of two Conference USA kickers named Wednesday to the Groza Award Watch List, joining Rice kicker Chris Boswell.

The 21st Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 4th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando for the announcement of the winner of the ESPN College Football Awards Show.

The award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.



For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the "Stars of the Week" throughout the season, please go to www.lougrozaaward.com. For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward.

2012 Preseason Lou Groza Award Watch List
Drew Alleman, LSU
Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette
Drew Basil, Ohio State
Tyler Bitancurt, West Virginia
Maikon Bonani, South Florida
Chris Boswell, Rice
Chandler Catanzaro, Clemson
Dan Conroy, Michigan State
Mitch Ewald, Indiana
Anthony Fera, Penn State
Andrew Furney, Washington State
Brendan Gibbons, Michigan
Jack Griffin, FIU
Andrew Heidari, USC
Parker Herrington, Air Force
Zach Hocker, Arkansas
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
Ty Long, UAB

Brett Maher, Nebraska
Craig McIntosh, Kentucky
Mike Meyer, Iowa
Jimmy Newman, Wake Forest
Cody Parkey, Auburn
Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
Jeremy Shelley, Alabama
Caleb Sturgis, Florida
Matt Weller, Ohio
Jake Wieclaw, Miami (Fla.)
Jordan Williamson, Stanford