Hunter Mullins Earns Spot On Ray Guy Watch List

UAB's Hunter Mullins was one of 25 punters named to the Ray Guy Watch List on Wednesday.

July 10, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ----- UAB punter Hunter Mullins has been tabbed to the Watch List for the 2013 Ray Guy Award, the Augusta Sports Council announced Wednesday.

Mullins is one of 25 punters nationally named to the list for the award named for former Southern Miss College Football Hall of Famer Ray Guy.

In his first season as UAB's regular punter in 2012, Mullins averaged a Blazer season-record 44.8 yards per kick. He had 14 punts inside the 20-yard line and 12 that were called on fair catches. Mullins had 12 punts during the season of 50 or more.

There are three punters from Conference USA teams on the Ray Guy Watch List. Joining Mullins are Trent Tignor of East Carolina and Tyler Williams of Marshall.

The 25 candidates on the Watch List include a wide range of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. Returning 2012 Ray Guy Award semifinalists Kyle Christy (Florida), Steven Clark (Auburn) Tyler Williams (Marshall) and Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State) are among those on the Watch List. The number of eligible candidates for this season will increase when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, who will be announced on November 8.

A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on November 25.

After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation's top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 12, 2013.

2013 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List
Stephen Clark, Sr., Auburn
Pat O'Donnell, Gr., Miami (Fla.)
Darragh O'Neill, Jr., Colorado
Will Monday, Soph., Duke
Trent Tignor, Sr., East Carolina
Kyle Christy, Jr., Florida
Richie Leone, Sr., Houston
Justin Duvernois, Jr., Illinois
Kirby Van Der Kamp, Jr., Iowa State
Anthony Melchiori, Soph., Kent State
Landon Foster, Soph., Kentucky
Tyler Williams, Soph., Marshall
Colter Johnson, Sr., Massachusetts
Tom Hornsey, Sr., Memphis Mike Sadler, Jr., Michigan State
Ben Skaer, Sr., New Mexico
Cayle Chapman-Brown, Sr., New Mexico State
Thomas Hibbard, Jr., North Carolina
Keith Kostol, Jr., Oregon State
Cody Webster, Sr., Purdue
Harrison Waid, Sr., San Jose State
Mike Loftus, Jr., SMU
Ethan Perry, Soph., TCU
Hunter Mullins, Jr., UAB
Michael Bowlin, Sr., Washington State