Ty Long Named To Groza Award Watch List

Ty Long booted a school-record 54-yard FG at Ohio State last season.

July 10, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ----- UAB junior Ty Long, who has already entrenched himself among the top placekickers in Blazers' history, has been named to the Watch List for the 2013 Lou Groza College Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission.

Long is one of 30 players nationally who were announced to the Watch List on Wednesday. Long is on the preseason list for the second year in a row.

The Roswell, Ga. native is one of four kickers from Conference USA who made the list, including Tulane senior Cairo Santos who converted 21-of-21 last season on his way to winning the 2012 Groza Award. Santos is seeking to become just the second player ever to win the Groza honor twice. Former Florida State kicker Sebastian Janikowski claimed the title in 1998 and 1999 and is the only multiple winner of the award.

The other two C-USA kickers joining Long and Santos are Rice's Chris Boswell and East Carolina's Warren Harvey. With four on the list, Conference USA tied for the most from any conference, along with the ACC, the Big Ten and the MAC.

Long will enter his third season at UAB with 30 field goals in 36 attempts and a career percentage of 83.3 that rates No. 1 all-time for the Blazers. He was listed second to Santos in the final C-USA rankings last season.

Last season, Long connected on 14-of-17 and booted the two longest field goals in UAB history when he hit from 54 yards vs. Ohio State and 53 yards against Southeastern Louisiana.

Long has not missed during his career from inside 40 yards, hitting all 19 previous attempts.

Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Monday, November 4th. From this list, a panel of more than 300 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, and former winners selects the top three finalists for the award by Monday, November 25th. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, December 12th during the Home Depot College Football Awards, broadcast live from Orlando, Fla.



The 22nd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 10th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

For more information on the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to see the "Stars of the Week" throughout the season, please go to www.lougrozaaward.com. For even more updates on the best kicking performances throughout the season, follow @LouGrozaAward on Twitter.

2013 Lou Groza Award Watch List
Chris Boswell, Sr., Rice
Kyle Brindza, Jr., Notre Dame
Jeff Budzien, Sr., Northwestern
Chandler Catanzaro, Sr., Clemson
Brian Davis, Sr., Arkansas State
Jeremiah Detmer, Jr., Toledo
Nick Diaz, Jr., Utah State
Mitch Ewald, Sr., Indiana
Nate Freese, Sr., Boston College
Andrew Furney, Sr., Washington State
Brendan Gibbons, Sr., Michigan
Warren Harvey, Jr., East Carolina
Michael Hunnicutt, Jr., Oklahoma
Cody Journell, Sr., Virginia Tech
Ty Long, Jr., UAB

Austin Lopez, Soph., San Jose State
Ross Martin, Soph., Duke
Mike Meyer, Sr., Iowa
Tony Miliano, Jr., Cincinnati
Dylan Mulder, Soph., Eastern Michigan
Jaden Oberkrom, Soph., TCU
Cody Parkey, Sr., Auburn
Kaleb Patterson, Soph., Miami (Ohio)
Jared Roberts,. Jr., Colorado State
Trevor Romaine, Jr., Oregon State
Cairo Santos, Sr., Tulane
Will Scott, Sr., Troy
Mathew Sims, Sr., Northern Illinois
Carey Spear, Sr., Vanderbilt
John Wallace, Soph., Louisville