Nelson Earns 2014 CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy

UAB's J.J. Nelson has picked up another national award, earning the CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy.
Jan. 9, 2015

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ---- UAB senior J.J. Nelson has earned the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Kickoff Returner Trophy, as announced by the organization. Nelson is the first UAB player to earn an annual honor from CFPA.

Nelson, who was previously named a first-team All-American as a return specialist, finished the season with the nation's highest kickoff return average (38.3 yards per return). He returned four kickoffs for touchdowns, the nation's highest mark and one shy of the NCAA single season record.

His kickoff return average is the fourth-highest in NCAA history.

Notable former CFPA winners at the kick return position include C.J. Spiller (Clemson), De'Anthony Thomas (Oregon), and Reggie Dunn (Utah).

The CFPA is in its seventh season providing national weekly, annual, and career honors based upon player and team performance rankings from college football data over the last decade. Twenty-eight individual winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.