2013 Charleston Classic Bracket Announced

Head Coach Jerod Haase will lead the Blazers against New Mexico at the Charleston Classic on Nov. 21

July 17, 2013

Charleston Classic Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. ---- The bracket for the 2013 Charleston Classic has been announced and the UAB Blazers will take on New Mexico in their first game on Thurs., Nov. 21.

The eight-team tournament will be played at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. UAB's game against the Lobos will tip off at 3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT and be televised by ESPNU.

New Mexico finished last season with a 29-6 record and a No. 3 final RPI ranking. The Lobos advanced to the 2013 NCAA Tournament as a No. 3 seed. The matchup with New Mexico will mark the first-ever meeting between the two programs.

The UAB/New Mexico winner will meet the winner of the Nebraska/UMass contest in a Nov. 22 semifinal. The losers of those first round games will meet in consolation round play.

The Cornhuskers went 15-18 last season and the Minutemen advanced to the NIT, finishing at 21-12 a season ago.

The Blazers' third contest in tournament action will take place on Sunday, Nov. 24, with the time and opponent yet to be determined.  The tournament caps off with the championship game set for 9 p.m. ET and will be televised on ESPN2.

The opposite side of the bracket features matchups of Georgia (15-17) vs. Davidson (26-8) and Temple (24-10) against Clemson (13-18). Temple and Davidson both made NCAA appearances during the 2012-13 season.

All tournament games will be aired by the ESPN family of networks on either ESPN2, ESPN3 or ESPNU.

Discounted hotel accommodations as well as game tickets are now available for fans. Visit AnthonyTravel.com/CharlestonClassic or call 888-632-6951 to make reservations.

Past Charleston Classic Tournament Winners
2012 - Colorado
2011 - Northwestern
2010 - Georgetown
2009 - Miami
2008 - Clemson