Women's Basketball

1978 - The 1978-79 season served as the first season of women's basketball at UAB, led by head coach Fran Braasch. The Blazers finished 15-11 that year, which included wins over both Alabama and Auburn.

1984 - UAB's first season competing in the Sun Belt conference. Under the direction of first-year head coach Bill Ivey, the Blazers concluded the '84-85 season with an overall record of 14-15, including a 4-2 mark in the conference. Ivey was named the Sun Belt Co-Coach of the Year.

1990 - The Blazers captured their first conference championship when they were crowned Sun Belt regular season co-champions during the 1989-90 season after posting an overall record of 19-11 and a 4-2 league record. Head coach Jeannie Milling was honored as the Sun Belt Coach of the Year.

1991 - UAB claimed its second consecutive championship during the 1990-91 season. The Blazers finished the year with an undefeated 6-0 record in the Sun Belt conference, winning the Sun Belt regular season championship and earning a spot in the postseason NWIT for the first time. UAB concluded the year with an overall record of 24-8.

1994 - The Blazers made their first trip to the NCAA tournament after finishing the season with a 23-6 overall record and an undefeated 12-0 mark in the Great Midwest Conference. UAB won the league' regular season championship, as well as the tournament championship to earn its bid to the NCAA tournament. The Blazers fell to George Washington, 74-66, in the first round.

1995 - UAB competed in Conference USA for the first time. The Blazers compiled an overall record of 18-11, including a 9-5 league record that season.

2000 - UAB advanced to the NCAA tournament "Sweet Sixteen" for the first time in school history, topping Oregon and Mississippi State in the first two rounds, before falling to Rutgers, 60-45, in the "Sweet Sixteen".

2002 - Deanna Jackson became the first UAB women's basketball player to be drafted by the WNBA, as she was taken by the Cleveland Rockers with the eighth overall pick.

2007 - UAB set a school record for most Conference USA wins in a season with 12. The Blazers' 12-4 mark in the league placed them second and earned them the No. 2 seed in the C-USA tournament, which is the highest seed earned by the Blazers' in school history. UAB went on to play in the postseason WNIT, winning its first-round game with Davidson, but falling to Auburn in the second round.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago