Two UAB Athletes Earn Scholar Athletes Of The Year Award

May 30, 2003

CHICAGO ----- A pair of UAB student-athletes were named recipients of its 2002-03 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, announced Conference USA officials here Friday. Morris Finley earned the award for men's basketball, while Lisa Nowoslawski shared the award for women's soccer with Meghann Burke of Saint Louis.

C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport. The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

Finley, a junior this past season, led the team and finished second in Conference USA in scoring and with 18.3 ppg. The Lafayette, Ala. native led the Blazers in 3-point FG percentage (.412), free throw percentage (.812) and total points (623). His 623 points during the 2002-03 campaign was the fifth-highest points scored in a single-season in school history. He was named to the second-team All-Conference USA as well as being named to the Conference USA All-Tournament team and MVP of the Sun Classic.

Nowoslawski ended her career at UAB after the 2002 season, but not before putting her name all over the Blazer record book. Nowoslawski is UAB's season leader in most saves (103 in 2001), highest save percentage (.824 in 2001), most saves per game (5.15 in 2001), least goals allowed (22 in 2001 and 1999), and best goals allowed average (1.13 in 2001). She's also the Blazers' career leader in most saves (327), most minutes played (5,836) and most wins (29).

Houston and Memphis each produced three scholar athlete award winners, while Louisville, Marquette, Saint Louis, South Florida joined UAB with two each. Eleven of C-USA's 15 institutions produced at least one scholar athlete winner.


Baseball - Jeff Cook, Southern Miss

Men's Basketball - Morris Finley, UAB

Women's Basketball - Sara Nord, Louisville

Men's Cross Country (2) - Chris Reis, Cincinnati and David Lance, Marquette

Women's Cross Country - Susan Barth, Marquette

Football - Nick Browne, TCU

Me's Golf - Chris Cureton, Houston

Women's Golf - Cindy Pasechnik, Louisville

Men's Soccer (2) - Chris Schmidt, Memphis and Jack Jewsbury, Saint Louis

Women's Soccer (2) - Lisa Nowoslawski, UAB and Meghann Burke, Saint Louis

Softball - Lindsay Chouinard, DePaul

Women's Swimming - Yulia Pakhalina, Houston

Men's Tennis - Jorge Escallon, South Florida

Women's Tennis - Sabrina Lindemann, Memphis

Men's Track and Field - Frederick Day, Houston

Women's Track and Field - Lisa Marie Hyman, Memphis

Volleyball - Alessandra Domingos, South Florida

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago