UAB Athletics Honors Senior Student-Athletes

Brian Mackin awards women's tennis player Paula Alvarez with the National Alumni Society Women's Athletic Scholarship.

May 4, 2012

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The UAB Athletics Department held its annual Senior Banquet earlier this week on campus at the National Alumni Society House. The event serves as a time to celebrate and honor the accomplishments of the 2012 Senior Class.

In addition to awarding the seniors with their senior gifts, athletic director Brian Mackin handed out a total of nine scholarships to student-athletes from various sports. The athletic department also honored student-athletes who have been instrumental to the development of UAB athletics.

Those who received awards included:

Gene Bartow Scholarship - Pascale Pinard (Women's Soccer)

Dorsey-Gallichio Endowed Athletic Scholarship - Keith DePew (Baseball)

Mervyn J. Goldstein Endowed Scholarship - TaRonda Randall (Women's Basketball)

Ralph Holmes Memorial Endowed Award - Patrick Palmeiro (Baseball)

George "Snoozy" Jones Scholarship - Ugonna Amarikwa (Football)

Old Boys Scholarship - Chris Williams (Men's Soccer)

Harry "The Hat" Walker Endowed Memorial Scholarship - David Hayes (Baseball)

National Alumni Society Women's Athletic Scholarship - Paula Alvarez (Women's Tennis)

Jerry D. Young Endowed Memorial Scholarship - Chase Daniel (Football)

SAAC Award - Kristina Vaughn (Track/Cross Country)

Also earning accolades during the evening were Keith DePew, Kristina Vaughn and Rhiannon Johns who received the Male and Female Academic Awards, respectively, for the highest GPA of the senior class.

Also recognized during the event was UAB President Dr. Carol Z. Garrison, who was awarded an honorary letter for her contributions and support of UAB athletics.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago